What’s this “day off” you speak of?

In some provinces in Canada, Remembrance Day is a holiday from work, depending on where you work. For schools in New Brunswick it is a day off school so that we can remember our war veterans and show our respect for those who fought for our country.

Yesterday we had a ceremony at our school and, as much as I would have liked to go down to the ceremony today, I have report cards to write and decided that instead I would go to school and yesterday’s ceremony would have to be enough for my remembrance today. I went to school at 9 this morning, took a quick break around 1 to go get some food and left the school at 4 this afternoon. Yup, on my day off work I went in to school for 7 hours to work on report cards and try to get a few things done around my classroom and I only managed to check a few things off my to do list. My room still isn’t in the state I’d like it to be, my desk is piled high with stuff, I have unmarked projects, I need to do my behaviour comments for all my students and, worst of all, I’m not planned for tomorrow and tomorrow I don’t have a prep and have Drama after school. AHHHHHHHHHH

How is it that I spend this much of my time outside of school hours doing school work and I still feel this far behind? Are there any elementary teachers anywhere who are able to do all the things and still teach and have a life outside school? I don’t mean to complain. I love my job, I really REALLY do. I’m so grateful to be able to do what I love everyday. But how are we supposed to actually do all this stuff?

Anyway, I should go eat something and get back to work.

4 thoughts on “What’s this “day off” you speak of?

  1. Mme Samson says:

    I’m not in elementary now but I find I put in about the same hours either way. Since having kids I don’t have much flexibility in my schedule and I don’t have the abikity to spend the amount of time I used to. Despite that, the world hasn’t caved in and my students are still learning. Do I feel I should be doing more? Of course. But I felt like that back when I worked 6 day weeks and rarely left school before 5 (with more work to do in the evening).

    I’m not sure what kind of demands you have in your school and school board, but it may help to prune down your priority list. Give yourself permission to slack off in some areas. Maybe include some more ready-made or easy-to-improvise activities to take some pressure off. Maybe decide to focus on improving things in one area and leave other things for another year. Obviously, report cards time is always going to be on the brutal side but in the lulls between, I think it’s important to set limits and respect them (most of the time… haha).

Leave a Reply

