Back on the horse

It happened finally last week; I applied for the job that I wanted most and so as of last Thursday I’m officially back to being a grade 5 teacher at my favourite school. I’m not back in the same portable classroom as last year, I’m in the other one, but that’s okay. I’ve spent this week getting to know my students and slowly bring my many boxes of teaching stuff and books (so many books) into my new classroom. I hope very much, like I always do, that this will be the last time I have to move it all.

I have a big group this year. There are 28 in my class and 28 in the other class as well. They’re pretty well behaved though and I’m pleased with how the first week has gone. We’re building routines and relationships. One of my students reflected that it feels like September again. To me, it may as well be September. Luckily, they have many routines and expectations already figured out so it’s just a matter of continuing to reinforce them. We came up with class expectations that were similar to the positive learning goals they had decided upon with their previous teacher. One interesting idea that they asked about was getting a class pet. I’m considering it. I’ve never been asked to get one before but they were realistic in their expectations, wanting a lizard or turtle or something easy to maintain. So this weekend I’m going to look around and see if I can find something.  I’m hoping I’ll get my teacher laptop soon so it’ll be easier to write blog posts.

2 thoughts on “Back on the horse

  1. IfByYes says:

    Yay! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

