Cleaning up the Clutter

I like to think of myself as a fairly tidy person. I am pretty particular about keeping my kitchen and bathroom and bedroom clean, but when it comes to my office or my desk at school, I have a hard time keeping things clean. It’s just not something I’ve ever been good at. I need to have those shared spaces clean but when it comes to my space, I tend to drop things somewhere and plan to organize and deal with things later. So I end up with a space that looks something like this.

20150720_102416

And it gets to the point where the idea of cleaning up is overwhelming. Today I decided I would start with the top of my desk and go from there, throwing out as much as I can because I have a LOT of stuff that I just don’t use anymore. So now my desk looks like this.

14381986961251586232846

I go back and forth on what I want to do with my office and where I want my working space to be. Mostly I end up working at the kitchen table, both because my desk looks more like the first picture, and also because I feel less isolated in the kitchen. But in theory, eventually this room will probably be turned into a nursery so I also feel like I need to be ready to clear out my stuff eventually and use some other part of the house as my work space, probably the kitchen table, which isn’t so bad.

What do you have on your summer to do list that you’re getting done or putting off?

Leave a Reply

