A New Adventure

It’s been a tumultuous few months. The end of the school year is always a busy time, especially in grade 5 where we need to get our students ready for middle school. I had such an amazing year. Having just turned 32 I must say that 31 was a pretty awesome year all around. I had a great bunch of kids, a fabulous new staff to work with at a phenomenal school. Add to that getting to act and stage manage for six productions in just over a year, and you’ve got a busy but amazing year.

Near the end of this school year I was very sad to find out that I wouldn’t be continuing on at the same school. Numbers were down in the French Immersion classes for grade 5 for next year so they were losing a class, and unfortunately that meant that I wouldn’t have a job there. As I said, I loved working at that school, with that team of teachers so I was extremely sad to leave, compounded by the fact that I hadn’t been re-hired anywhere else.

Luckily at the beginning of last week that changed. I’m happy to announce that I’ll be continuing to teach grade 5 Intensive French, but at a new school in the fall. It’s a school I’ve never been to, in fact, it’s in a community that I don’t know very well yet, but I’m happy to be able to get to know them. It means a new school, a new team, a new set of organizational expectations, but at least I’m staying at the same grade; a grade I’ve taught for three and a half years, so I know the curriculum pretty well.

Tomorrow I’m going to take a drive out to the school to have a look at where it is, and go in and find my classroom if I can. I’m taking over for a mat leave so I want to find out what I’m going to be working with in the classroom. I’ll have a team of two other teachers teaching the same thing as me which is going to be great.

The first time I had to change schools, I remember how terrified I was, going in to a school where I didn’t know anyone and didn’t know what things are going to be like. This time though I know that I’ll be fine. There will be some adjusting for sure, but I’m confident that things will work out.

Here’s to the next adventure in teaching!

One thought on “A New Adventure

Leave a Reply

