New Year’s Meme for 2012

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Giving my student KidBlogs. It was something I’ve always wanted to do but, due to lack of computers in the classroom, have never done before, but this year because almost all of my students have computers and internet at home, I decided to give it a go and I’m so happy I did.

I joined two theatre groups that were not associated with school. Joining MTM and G&S were the best things I could have done for my happiness this year I’m sure.

Went snowshoeing with my husband and some friends for the first time.

Sang soprano. Sang small solos in front of an audience.

Stage managed for a play.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t recall my new year’s resolutions for last year so I’m going to say no.

For this coming year my resolution is to keep looking for and talking about the positive side of things. Too often I feel like we see and focus on what’s wrong rather than celebrating what’s right. I had some very clear examples this year of what it looks like when something is wrong and all people do is complain about it rather than doing something about it. Sometimes, there’s very little you can do to change something and that’s where acceptance comes in. So rather than wasting energy on complaining about things I’m going to focus on either changing things to make it better or learning to live with it and seeing the positives.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes! My nephew Owen was born this year and one of  my best friend gave birth to Miranda this year and my other friend gave birth to Ayla this year as well. Lots of babies. 🙂

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Our dog Ceilidh passed away this year. I miss her very much but I’m glad that I got the chance to visit with her this summer shortly before she passed away.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. I stayed in Canada the whole year. I visited PEI; that was the farthest I went.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

I would like to get a B contract (permanent) for teaching. And a baby, but I don’t think that will happen in 2013. A better singing voice (working on it).

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m not good with remembering specific dates.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting out and auditioning for shows this year. Starting up a new classroom at a new school.

9. What was your biggest failure?

The end of the school year felt like a bit of a failure for me. It was really rough at times losing some of the supports I’d had all year and the challenges of the particular class I’d had plus being busy with the musical and I think my heart wasn’t in it as much as I wanted to be. I burned myself out and didn’t know how to ask for the help that I needed. I’m very happy that I was able to come back from that downturn and get back to feeling good and having lots of energy for teaching and for theatre.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing serious. Just colds and flues, the regular stuff.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I’m not a big buyer of stuff. I tend to buy little things that I enjoy. I bought lots of books that I love mostly and I like that we bought a tree this year, our first Christmas tree. We just bought some new pots and pans that I adore. They’re ceramic and they make food taste so good.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My students’ in my current class. There are still issues of course, they are in grade 5 after all and the grade 5 crazies are starting to hit. But even when they make poor choices, they are quick to make amends and they seem to understand what is expected of them. They are mostly kind to each other and to me.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Hmmm… well there are a few. Stephen Harper would be a big one for many reason. I’ve never been so ashamed to be a Canadian in all my life. And there have been some times throughout this year where I’ve seen parents behave in ways that make me very sad for my students and more understanding of where they are coming from. I’ve also seen lots of wonderful parents but there are others that are not so wonderful.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Books, school supplies, candles.

15. What did you get really excited about?

THEATRE! 2012 was the year of the plays for me. I was in three and stage managed for one. I think there will be even more in 2013 as I’m already in one play plus re-doing one that we’ve already done and assistant stage managing for a musical.

KidBlogs! I love seeing how my students use social media. The best part is seeing some of my quieter students really shine on our blog. They get so involved in sharing their thoughts and encouraging one another. I love it and I’m so glad that I started it up this year. MangaHigh was another one that I got very excited about. It seems to have petered out a little but hopefully it become interesting again for them in the new year.

16. What song will always remind you of 2012?

Anything from Avenue Q or the two G&S musicals. Gangnam Style.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

– Happier or sadder? Happier!

– Thinner or fatter? I think I may have gained a little bit since last year but I’m not sure.

– Richer or poorer? A little bit richer but again, it’s hard to tell.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Smiled.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Allowed myself to be pulled down by others.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

We stayed in Fredericton for the first time. It was my first Christmas other than when I was living in Scotland away from my family. We visited with a lot of friends and had dinner with Tony’s family. It was nice but very different than my usual big family Christmas with all my aunts and uncles and cousins. I missed that but I had a pretty good time here too.

21. Did you fall in love in 2012?

Over and over and over again with my husband.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Hmmmm I have a few favourites this year. Downton Abbey, Glee, Doctor Who, oh and I finally watched and enjoyed Mad Men as well.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I don’t hate anyone, though there is someone who hurt a friend and continues to hurt a friend. This time last year I was not aware of what was going on so that’s not quite hate but it’s extreme dislike.

24. What was the best book you read?

So many good books. I love having an e-reader because I can take them all with me and not worry about storage space. I loved the “Uglies” series and Kelley Armstrong’s final book in her Women of the Underworld series.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

The musical Next to Normal.

26. What did you want and get?

I got a new class at a new school. I would have been happy enough staying at my old school and moving to the brand new school that they’re moving into next week but I’m happier where I am.

27. What did you want and not get?

A role in the big musical this year. I’m excited to be working back stage; I know I’m good at that sort of thing because I’m very organized, but it was disappointing to not get a role.

A baby. I was hoping that this year we would start trying for a baby at least. Turning 31 was hard because of this. But I’m hopeful that finances will get better and that we can start trying soon.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Les Miserables, Perfect Pitch

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

31. We had a little get together at our house with BBQ and stuff.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A better job for my husband.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

Business casual.

32. What kept you sane?

Theatre, books, cats, my husband.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I don’t tend to “fancy” many celebrities.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The occupy movement, the US election, environmental policy failures

35. Who did you miss?

I miss seeing my family and friends as often.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

I met so many great people this year! My new colleagues are wonderful. In particular, the other grade 5 Intensive French teacher has been wonderful to work with. We have a similar but different teaching style and I love talking to him about political and social issues as well. I’ve met wonderful friends through MTM and G&S as well. Especially since two of my good friends here in Fredericton moved to Korea to teach and then my writing group stopped meeting as much, I felt a little lonely so I’m very grateful to have met so many wonderful people this year.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

Ask for help when you need it. It doesn’t make you look weak. Not asking for help does not make you look stronger.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“The radiator’s hissing, still I need your kissing, to keep me from freezing each night.” – Steam Heat (my little mini solo from the G&S musical)

One thought on “New Year’s Meme for 2012

  1. […] I found this meme that I did in 2012 and thought I should revive it to see how things have changed in three years and what has stayed the same. You can see the old one here: DECEMBER 31, 2012 […]

Leave a Reply

