Adventures in class blogs

I’ve been toying with the idea of starting a class blog for a very long time. I’ve done blogs where my students did updates for our whole class every day and as a school we each have class pages that are basically like blogs and I have the students do updates once a week, but this year, since most of my students are able to use computers at home I thought I’d try out a class blog on KidBlog.org and see how it went. The other reason I decided to start this is that after the initial excitement with the year long learning projects the interest seemed to be waning and I wanted a way to get them going with their projects so I thought I’d try it out.

Yesterday morning I signed them up. I showed them a little bit about how to use the website in the afternoon, went over a few internet safety tips, let them know I would be moderating all entries and comments and let them go. I went on last night to see how it was going and I nearly cried with joy. It was so interesting and heart warming to see what they were writing to each other. They were writing encouraging comments on each others’ blogs and asking interesting questions. They were interacting in a respectful and fun way and getting excited about their projects again. What a great way to build a community. Today we talked about visiting other classes’ blogs and seeing what they do with theirs. We visited one in Argentina and I encouraged them to comment on other blogs as well.

We’re still only two days in, but I’m loving this so far. What they are writing is still very rudimentary for the most part but I think that it will improve. It’s authentic and they know that people are going to read it.

If you’re interested in visiting our blog and seeing how the students are doing on their projects, the website is here. Leave us a comment on something you see.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in class blogs

  1. It sounds like you’ve done a great job preparing them and getting them excited to share their ideas.

Leave a Reply

