Back to school jitters

Tomorrow is our first day back for teachers. We have until next Wednesday before our students start which is a lovely long amount of time. I’ve very grateful to have this much time to prepare. I feel like I have a lot of work ahead of me. I’m starting at a new school. I’m happily staying with the same grade level so I have some idea of what I’m doing but new school means new culture, new routines, new expectations to learn.

There are many things I’m looking forward to about my new school. It’s a much larger school. Last year my school had 10 classes K-5. This one has 25 K-5! It will be my first time working with another Intensive French teacher at the same school. I’m looking forward to being able to collaborate with a colleague who’s teaching the same thing as me at the same school. Also, this school has French Immersion as well so I’m hoping that speaking French to other teachers will help my French. Plus it will be easier to create a French culture in my classroom where all the grade 5’s will be speaking French, not just my class.

I’m happy that I know several teachers and the Vice Principal used to be my Principal a few years ago. It’s not like when I went to my last school and didn’t know anyone at all on staff. I’m excited to get to know the other teachers as well. I hope that there is a good teacher culture. One of the things I loved most about my last school was how supportive and friendly the staff were. As a supply teacher I used to see staffs where there was some in-fighting and pettiness between teachers at some school. That didn’t happen at SD. We all supported each other. We all knew what we were up against.

I am a little nervous. Moving to a new school is difficult even while it’s exciting. There’s a steep learning curve involved in figuring out how things are done that are the same or different. But luckily I have almost a week and a half to learn as much as I can before I meet my new class.

What sorts of things do you do to help yourself get ready for the first days of school?

Leave a Reply

