Time goes by so fast

Summer vacation is pretty much here. I have two more days of packing up everything in my classroom, sorting through what is going with me and what is moving on to another teacher at another school. It’s a big job but I think… I hope… I’ll get it all done in good time by Tuesday. Friday I spent the first half of the day purging my cumulative files. It’s a huge job getting those records all done up. I’m glad I finished them so I can focus on other things. The rest of the day was spent cleaning, taking things off the walls, doing a little more sorting. There is just so much to do. I found it hard to focus sometimes because I would start one thing and then think of something else that needed to be done and get distracted. It’ll all get done though.

Today I slept in. It was glorious. I know I need to get caught up on my sleep. With everything that’s been going on lately, so many things that needed to be done for school, report cards, end of the year activities to be planned, photostory done up and then burned to disks, and before that the musical I was in… It’s been a very busy month. With all that going on, I let some of my self care slip away. I’ve noticed that I haven’t been eating as well, more convenience foods, and I stopped exercising. So today I started up my wii active routine again and tried to eat well. One of my goals for this summer is to get back into those good habits.

Summer time always goes by so quickly. Every year I have plans of all the things I’m going to get done over the summer and instead I get a few done and mostly relax. Relaxing is important too, but I have a few things I want to focus on this summer so that at the end I’ll feel like I’ve used my time wisely.

First off, I’m auditioning again for Mostly the Moment theatre company for their second season. I’ve been re-bitten by the theatre bug and am really excited about getting back into it again. The auditions are in three weeks so I’ll be spending some time choosing and practicing a monologue and song. Hopefully after that three weeks I’ll be learning a new show.

I have four weddings I’ve been invited to in August, September and October plus a bachelor party in August, so some of my time this summer will be planning for and going to these weddings. Plus I’ve been asked to sing at one of them so I’ll be getting ready for that.

I want to spend more time in my garden this summer.

For school I won’t be able to get into my classroom until late August so I want to be able to focus on setting up my classroom then. Earlier I want to spend some time going through my files, re-thinking some of my systems, trying to put more of my organizational systems (marking, planning, filing) on computer rather than on paper. And I want to make some videos to go with some of the songs I use for Intensive French.

I know that the time will go quickly, and suddenly we’ll be back to school. I’ll be at a new school with new colleagues and new students. I want to get the most out of the time I’ll have.

Leave a Reply

